4/5/15 Athens trip

This past weekend heather and I traveled to Athens, Greece. It was a good two day vacation from Heraklion, where we visited the ancient ruins and ate the local cuisine. The highlight of the trip for me was the hotel. We stayed at the Royal Olympic Hotel, where we had a view of the acropolis and the temple of Zeus. It was also nice staying in a room with a working shower.


The first day we took a hop on hop off tour of the city. We were able to see the stadium where the first modern Olympics were held, Greek parliament, the temple of Zeus, the arch of Hadrian, the Parthenon, and the theater of Dionysus. My favorite was the Parthenon because it had the best view of Athens. Athens is a very big city, but it doesn’t have any sky scrapers so you can see the entire city from the top of the Acropolis.


I enjoyed the food as well. Heather and I both had Greek salads and lamb last night for dinner that was very good. My favorite part was the fresh olives that were given to us for an appetizer.


I don’t know if I will ever come back to Athens though. The streets were pretty crowded and the people weren’t the nicest to heather and I. I thought the sites were well worth the trip, I just don’t know if I would want to come back. Overall, this was a very good excursion to Athens and I had a good time.


-Gordon

Leave a Reply

